My One Word: Truth

While listening to a radio program in January 2012, the deejays discussed one word each was going to focus on throughout the year.  I listened, pondered, and then discarded the assignment.  In 2013, I craved to study love as described in the scriptures.  As 2013 progressed, I studied love, but I found myself fine tuning the focus of my heart to agape.  The essence of agape love is self-sacrifice.  Now, before you go and accuse me of being a martyr…I realized more and more that this is the type of love that comes from God and the type of love I wanted to give.

It’s 2014.  I don’t necessarily think I have the whole agape thing ready to be stored away with the Christmas decorations, but I know that I’ve got a good enough handle on it and that it is time to move forward.  I decided to deliberately choose a word this year.  On January 1, I chose the word joy.  On January 2, I started reading a new book and it was absolutely apparent that ‘joy could come in the morning’.  God spoke to my heart and I changed my word to truth.

I will take 2014 to ‘be still’ and focus on God’s truths.

Will you join me?  Do you have a word for 2014?  Perhaps you would like to watch this video from the guy who started talking about the whole ‘One Word’ concept to begin with…

Leave a Reply

